Blue

Blue – considered as a colour, a pigment, a hue… But – you can disbelieve – it’s a living creature… It’s got a life on its own, you can dialogue with it and argue and throw a challenge -it will response. You can make your point that all other colours may be perceived this way…I would agree…But since red will shout at you, yellow laughs, green bores, black closes himself – you will be left with blue – only partner (some bluish shades of purple will do too) for a deep, intelligent conversation…

I’ve been living with and talking to blue for some time now. I respect it too much to bother my readers with dry definitions, specifications and so on…Anyone interested can find it here and here and here. What I would like to do is to try to describe why this colour is so important to me and how I react to it.

First of all what I enjoy in blue is its ambiguity, unpredictability and that it escapes from all “labels” which we tend to put on it. We are used to say about feeling blue – sad and depressed, but when we think hope – we think blue (not to say nothing about signing blues of sunny sky…). We say cold but when the fire is at its hottest it turns pale blue; we think – passive because we imagine a horizontal line of a sea/sky, but just consider storm on the water/in the air – there are only few things on this world more dynamic than that… So, it’s above any stereotypes…Think twice before you categorise anything that’s blue…

Little personal journey – I was 15 when I saw Trois Couleurs: Bleu for the first time and it blew my mind away. It was one of the most formative experiences of my life, the very moment I started to study philosophy, psychology and explore the world even more creatively. I suppose it’s because the film, being French-Polish is profoundly universal too, like a Greek or Shakespearean drama. On the other hand I can quite easily find Polish soul in it – that moralistic, melancholic, romantic and “blue” mood and yet the impossible spiritual demands one endures in silence (even if there’s no real need for it) – again – very Eastern-European trait… The movie, being first from the great trilogy by Krzysztof Kieslowski (read more on the trilogy), co-written with Krzysztof Piesiewicz is just the director’s comment on blue (Blue from the French flag which stands for “Freedom”)…

But what a comment it is! I think that all that ambiguity of the colour I’ve mentioned above is well-portrayed here… I cannot help pasting in the video with the “Blue” Grand Finale…

That shadow of a smile at the end is what the whole story is about – being above the misery/chance-ness of the human condition and being spiritually (mentally/physically) free – victorious despite all the devils you may face (but this is mine and just one of many possible interpretations). The choir sings (to the incredible score by Zbigniew Preisner) in Greek St. Paul’s Hymn to Love:

Though I speak with the tongues of angels
if have not love, my words would resound with but a tinkling cymbal.
And though I have the gift of prophecy and understand all mysteries
and though I have all faith so that I could remove mountains
if I have not love I am nothing

So it’s the colour of the sky that touches the deepest, the infinity of human spirituality…

And finally – considering an artist’s profession as deeply philosophical and spiritual I just couldn’t not to undertake the blue challenge. Those more advanced readers to this site know how I’ve been trying to deal with it. For others I’ll repeat… I’m collecting blue hues, I’m mixing countless bluish secondaries. I’m reading lots about the colour history, characteristics etc. I’m trying different media – photography, prints, dimensional work, animation to apply different language and to explore its potential.

And I’ve just started to paint with oils….I think I will end up with dozens of visual commentaries on blue. Thanks for reading/watching.

About kasia

Born in Poland. Lives in Ireland, Cork. Visual artist. View all posts by kasia

Leave a Reply

