A great artist you’ve never heard about…Part 2

Here are videos with Rysiek Riedel’s performances. To learn more about this artist, click here.

I’ve chosen these pieces looking mostly on the quality of recording (although no record from Youtube gives justice to the artist’s voice). Louder listening is recommended. My translation of lyrics (sorry Rysiek) follows the videos.

‘Koszmarna Noc’ (‘Nightmarish night’) gives a good account of the artist’s vocal talent, he looks at his best, for the last time…

Nightmarish night, it’s already two o’clock, a disgusting bed and a blanket/ Something is smothering me, monstrous dreams/ That television is hissing like a snake/ I don’t have power any more to turn it off/ I don’t have strength to put it all together/ What am I doing here?… I don’t have strength any more/ I have to think, woman, help me/ Seconds, minutes, seconds, minutes, hours and days… hours and days…

There is fire burning in depths of my soul/ It’s my youth that torments, I know/ In the morning the girls will come again/ And they will do everything to comfort me/ In the morning the little girls will come again/ And they will do everything to comfort me/ Why sun, why sun shines so shortly?/ I have to think, help me, God/ Seconds,minutes, hours and days (2x)/ God, help me, help me, God (2x)

Skazany na Blues-a’ (‘Doomed to Blues’) – here Rysiek is barely alive (it’s 1993, a year before his death) in one of his last (last of all?) concerts; only his passion for signing and his great stubbornness could have made it possible for him to perform in that physical condition… The autobiographical lyrics are poignant to the deepest in those circumstances…

The crowd shouts his name and ‘sing!’, ‘sing!’, sing!’ mantra. And he answers: ‘Always, I’ll always sing for you…to the end.’ And he did mean it. He lived as he sang and he sang as he lived…The great artist, you’ve never heard about…

If you haven’t known him, don’t regret/ If you haven’t known him, don’t regret, o no/ Because you would lose a friend/ Because you would lose a friend…like I did/ No, you didn’t know him…/ You’ve liked sometimes to listen how he played/ But – have you ever thought, where do they come from, people like him?/ Have you ever thought, where do they come from, people like him?

He was one of few, doomed to Blues/ That sentence was strengthening him/ He’s got a home and family, he could have lived peacefully/ But he was running away many times/ To stand before you and to gain some strength/ He was like that, he was like that/ Because he got little time left, he was sensing it/ Doomed to Blues, how many of them is there like him? (2x)/ How many of them is there like him?…(2x)

P.S.

Double-click on videos to see, who originally had uploaded them to Youtube, thanks guys.

About kasia

Born in Poland. Lives in Ireland, Cork. Visual artist. View all posts by kasia

Leave a Reply

