Death as an eternal form of Art…

Back to Paris again…

Pere Lachaise is probably one of the most beautiful cemeteries of this world. Like a ghostly, melancholic city within the city, living its own dignified, mysterious life… Its ancient, highly decorative tombs, sculptures, corners and paths where one can easy spent long minutes lost in reflection… The history and spirit behind it… As a whole and in dozens of its aesthetically seductive spots it appears to exist as a perfect, frozen image of Art ‘par excellence’; frozen and devoted to dead ones – yet strangely alive with its inner pulse of a ticking clock – the one that ticks in us…

I hear you saying: “Let it all be, but – why – on Earth – to bother with that at all? ” The same question was in my colleagues’ eyes when I was leaving their joyful company to realize my plan of seeing Paris great graveyards. I came to the city of Chopin, Proust, Piaf, Delacroix, Sartre and others with a packet of candles having a strong notion in my mind that it wouldn’t be fair – not to visit them after all those incredible moments of spiritual delight and challenge their work has brought to my life… Just like seeing friends in a cafe-shop, where a table and a cup of hot fluid becomes a ground when one may build a bridge of communication and intimacy – the same happens when one treats a grave of someone loved as a vehicle of potential spiritual meeting…

Photos I made serve as an inspiration to celebrate death as the eternal form of art… Because life is art – just like everything else…

About kasia

Born in Poland. Lives in Ireland, Cork. Visual artist. View all posts by kasia

4 responses to “Death as an eternal form of Art…

  • erikatakacs

    Thanks for sharing these beautiful pics. Looks like a very peaceful place for the living and the dead. The closeup of the face of the girl is my favourite. It’s a beautiful piece of art.

  • skonieczna

    Thanks Erika
    I added two new pics which may interest you too – the ‘girl’s face is the face of an angel – she can be visible flying over dead family in the first photo above (lower part of the monument). I added also my favourite – the close up of dying (dead?, still alive?) lovers – rarely one can see something that poignant… With gratitude.

  • Stan

    “Like a ghostly, melancholic city within the city”

    Well put! And thank you for uploading a lovely set of photos. Père Lachaise is a strikingly atmospheric place, and when I visited I felt the same curious sense of near-camaraderie among so many beloved names. You mention Sartre – so you visited Montparnasse too? Another beautiful place; I would like to return to both, some day, preferably alive!

  • skonieczna

    Stan,
    Yes I visited Montparnasse as well – much less impact, but still… I’ve seen Soutine’s and Sartre’s places there. Both graveyards will be my destinations again any time I visit this fantastic city.

Leave a Reply

